Start Healthy, Stay Healthy, National Immunization Awareness Month


Start Healthy, Stay Healthy

National Immunization Awareness Month

 Tuesday,  July 9, 2013

11:00 am – 12:00 noon Pacific

2:00 pm – 3:00 pm Eastern

During the month of August, state and local public health departments across the country will be promoting back-to-school immunizations, encouraging college students to catch up on immunizations before they move into dormitories, and reminding everyone that immunizations are needed through adulthood. Please join us on Tuesday, July 9 ( 11am PT / 2pm ET) for the launch of the 2013 National Immunization Awareness Month (NIAM) Campaign.

NIAM activities are being coordinated by the National Public Health Information Coalition (NPHIC) with assistance from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s National Center for Immunization and Respiratory Diseases. This important campaign is designed to help public information officers, immunization program managers and Coalition leaders work together to communicate about the importance of immunizations during NIAM and build momentum or “buzz” among provider groups, the media and social networks. 

During the webinar, speakers will unveil a new NIAM toolkit that is designed around themes that will help you communicate about immunizations to a different population each week of the month:

  • Back to School
  • Off to College
  • Not Just For Kids (Adults)
  • A Healthy Start (Expectant mothers and babies)

Webinar speakers from NPHIC and the CDC will review the NIAM Toolkit, share resources from the CDC and other organizations to complement the campaign, and discuss strategies for utilizing social media to share information, messages, reports and local stories.

Register today to learn how you can make your NIAM activities a big success!

This entry was posted in Events, VICNetwork Blog, Webinars. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.