Start Healthy, Stay Healthy – VICNetwork Webinar – Tuesday, July 9 – 11 am PT / 2pm ET

Start Healthy, Stay Healthy

National Immunization Awareness Month

 Tuesday, July 9, 2013

11:00 am – 12:00 noon Pacific

2:00 pm – 3:00 pm Eastern


The month of August is National Immunization Awareness Month (NIAM) when state and local public health departments across the country will be promoting back-to-school immunizations, encouraging college students to catch up on immunizations before they move into dormitories, and reminding groups like new mothers about the importance of immunizations for themselves and their babies. Please join us on Tuesday, July 9 (11am PT / 2pm ET) for the launch of the 2013 NIAM Campaign.

NIAM activities are being coordinated by the National Public Health Information Coalition (NPHIC) with assistance from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s National Center for Immunization and Respiratory Diseases. This important campaign is designed to help public information officers, immunization program managers and Coalition leaders work together to communicate about the importance of immunizations during NIAM and build momentum or “buzz” among provider groups, the media and social networks.

Webinar speakers will review the NIAM Toolkit, share resources from the CDC and other organizations to complement the campaign, and discuss strategies for utilizing social media to share information, messages, reports and local stories.

Our speakers will include:

Melinda Wharton, MD, MPH
Acting Director, National Center for Immunization and Respiratory Diseases

Nancy Erickson
Communication Director at Vermont Department of Health

Sarah Patterson, MPH
Program Manager, Immunization at The American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists

Follow NIAM promotion activities online via the hashtag #NIAM13 

This entry was posted in Blogs, VICNetwork Blog, Webinars. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.